I figured out Mutt!

So mutt (my mailer) sporadicly is capable or not capable of unicode sending. I would be so perplexed, as I would send a message in French to Dan, and it would work, and then I would use «French quotes» on the Perl list and it would fuck up. And I’d end up looking like an idiot for trusting it.

But I figured it out. Apparently, mutt automatically detects whether the message is in unicode. But it does a very poor job of it. The only character which correctly triggers it so far is LATIN SMALL LETTER A WITH GRAVE (à). So, if I want to send a message in unicode, I have to get an A grave in there somehow. Interesting challenge. Maybe I’ll just make a sig that requires it.

Leave a Reply

