Why don’t I care about story?

I just finished watching Spirited Away for the third time. I was just wondering why I have such different taste in movies from people around me? Some of my favorite movies are: Kill Bill (and I liked volume 1 the best), Spirited Away, Ocean’s Eleven, …. All these movies have shallow or simple stories, but I could watch them over and over again. I think it’s the quality of the production: The picture and the sound, the visual contrast, the photography. These are the things that give a movie a long “replay value” for me.

This makes sense, since for a while I’ve known that my liking for a piece of music largely depends on its performance. No, Rach 3 isn’t my favorite piece; Feltsman’s Rach 3 is.

Hmp.

Leave a Reply

