Piano concerto no. 0

I’ve been updating my progress on my piano concerto recently. One of my main points in doing this is just to allow other composers (or even non-composers) to see my process of writing a large, complex piece. But there’s one thing I’ve been keeping hidden that I just remembered to share now. This is my second try at a piano concerto. The timestamp on the file says 2002-12-30, so that’s the closest estimate I have for when I was working on this (hmm, now I wish I would have kept track of dates more closely). I can’t find my first try yet, but I’ll post when I do.

I notice a few things about my composing style and skill at that point as compared to now: I seem to have become a little more conservative pianisticly. I really like some of the piano writing in this second try. But I also seem to have increased my thematic attention span by quite a bit (and it’s still not as long as I’d like it to be). This second try seems to have three times as much stuff as the first movement of my most recent concerto, but it’s only half as long. I consider this to be a good thing; bombarding the listener with too many new themes is just irritating. And my orchestral writing has really come together since that time. I’m not really sure what did it. I probably only wrote ten total minutes of orchestral music between the two concertos. I think there are two factors: 1. ten minutes is a lot when you consider orchestral music; 2. I started listening to a wider variety of classical and noticing the orchestration more critically. Something tells me that it’s more the latter than the former.

3 thoughts on “Piano concerto no. 0

  1. Can you post either a “.MID” or “.MUS” file of this?
    Your orchestral skill has improved a step further.
    I like this theme, you moved in your motif by strensmbl at second
    0:28 quite harmonious, and the good accompany of pizz strings to the
    whole song very well. You drived the piano go anywhere that I
    don’t know this is an very good advantage, I alway stray from
    the theme when I do this. You seemingly gave off romantic style and build the impressionist’s method based on the classical foundation to your pieces recently.

  2. Okay, it’s at //misc/luke/music/all/unfinished/pianoconc.mid. There is also a .ove file by the same name (I wrote this back when I was using Cakewalk (now GenieSoft) Overture). It’s a two-device piece; that is, there are more that 16 channels, so you probably won’t be able to play it all at once. If you do have a SB Live or Audigy, set the strings to MIDI Synth B, and all the rest to MIDI Synth A.

  3. I currently liked at the second 1:13, ofcourse and the way you lead to it. I am considering this is something that is writeable to me. However, I’d agree that it’s pretty difficult to
    achieve the segment from 1:52 to 2:01, this is very innovative, great. Then, from 2:13 to 2:20 is pretty too.
    If there is someone enforce me to criticise this concerto, I would tell them to advise the author to cut off the “Toccative” section around 3:28. Piano solo in a concerto is a “double
    edged knife” solution, it can help to lead to an emphasis, but it could cause the piece be more
    washy regardless it’s rational itself. But this piece in general, could push the listener
    to an imagination, the background and flowing is good (beside some piano solo point above :-)
    The theme is great, it’s more opened than your P.concerto No.1 mvt.3 which is closed and pretty difficult to develop.
    I wish you to be successed soon.

Leave a Reply

