Etude

The other day, Jude asked me whether my daily improvisations were helping me improve as a pianist (rather than just an improvisationalist). My reply was that I couldn’t tell. And then it occurred to me that I’m not really playing anything challenging anymore. Yeah, I play Pathetique once in a while, Jeux Deau now and again, but I’ve known both of those for a year already. I’m not learning anything new and challenging.

This etude, unlike my other etudes, was written for myself. It is not improvisational in the least. It took about an hour and a half to write and learn to the skill level you hear here. If I wish to treat it as a real etude, I should learn it to perfection, which should take several more hours. I’m not sure if I will. Anyway, enjoy.

Oh, and here’s the sheet music.

Leave a Reply

