Blog Upgrade

I just gave WordPress a much-needed upgrade, from version 1.3 to the latest version 2.5. I have to say, WordPress 2.5 is a very nice piece of software. I was extremely pleased by the upgrade process, which painlessly preserved my archives all the way back to 2003, even from such an old version. Commercial upgrade support is seldom that good.

It still requires a bit of hacking to get things just right. The theme I selected is gorgeous, and 15 times better than any other theme I found on the WordPress themes site. But it had a stupid “wallpaper selector” on the top banner. How useless. I had to dive into the code and find the line to comment out to remove it. But I guess that’s the theme designer’s fault.

Go WordPress! You are yet another shining example of high-quality open source software!

One thought on “Blog Upgrade

Leave a Reply

