Freewrite no. 25

Long before I started this blog, I decided to adapt the idea of a writer’s freewrites to music. The exact definition has mutated over the years, but nowadays I define a freewrite as a piece which I compose in one sitting, generally (but not rigidly) avoiding backtracking. That makes it a sort of compositional improvisation.

Yesterday I took two hours to do a freewrite using two of Karen’s instruments: oboe and marimba (instruments I definitely did not focus on in the past). It’s a two minute, four piece ensemble for oboe, marimba, violin, and cello.

Freewrite no. 25: (mp3 / pdf)

Leave a Reply

